South Africa and the European Union

South Africa's Trade, Development and Cooperation Agreement (TDCA) with the European Union (EU) was signed in 1999 and ratified by the then EU 15 in 2004. Due to the enlargement of the EU to 25 Member States in 2004, an Additional Protocol to the TDCA was signed in 2005 in the presence of President Mbeki and President Barroso of the European Commission (EC). The Additional Protocol, which extends the provisions of the TDCA to the 10 new members, was ratified by the South African Parliament in 2005.

The Wines and Spirits Agreement was signed on 28 January 2002 and implemented retroactively from 1 January 2002 to ensure that no benefits were lost from the Agreement. The Agreement has not been ratified by the South African Parliament yet. A Fisheries Agreement is still pending due to irreconcilable mandates between South Africa and the EU.

As a member of the African, Caribbean and Pacific Group of States (ACP), South Africa is also contributing to preparations for negotiations with the EU for a SADC-EC Economic Partnership Agreement (EPA), in terms of the Cotonou Partnership Agreement (CPA), scheduled for implementation in January 2008.

Updated: Dec. 2005

Quick Links:

Disclaimer | Contact Us | HomeLast Updated: 30 December, 2005 12:09 PM
This site is best viewed using 800 x 600 resolution with Internet Explorer 5.0, Netscape Communicator 4.5 or higher.
2003 Department of Foreign Affairs, Republic of South Africa