English |  

African Union (AU)

South African Development Community (SADC)
About The Embassy
An Office of South African Interests was established in Tunis in 1993. After the elections in 1994, relations were formalised with an agreement to elevate the status of the Office of Interests to that of an Embassy. On the 9th of June 1994, the Minister of Foreign Affairs, Mr Alfred Nzo, official opened the South African Embassy in Tunis.

South Africa and Tunisia enjoy a very healthy and mutually beneficial political and economic relationship. This relationship was further strengthened in 1996 when the inaugural session of the Joint Bilateral Commission between South Africa and Tunisia was held in Tunis. The third session of the Joint Commission was again held in Tunis during April 2001 and the Commission largely focused on enhancing relations in the fields of Trade and Investment; Health; Tourism, and Environmental Affairs; Arts & Culture, Science & Technology; and political consultations regarding Foreign Relations.
Physical Address :

7, Rue Achtart

Postal Address :

P.O. Box 251
Cité Mahrajène - 1082

Tel : + 216 71 800 311 (Switchboard)
Fax : + 216 71 796 742
Afterhours : + 216 99 711 075
Head of Mission : Ambassador Mandla Harold Hoyana
Political Section : First Secretary Political: Mr Mandixole Matroos
Administration : First Secretary: Corporate Services: Ms Paballo Olga Makhetha
Third Secretary Administration and Consular : Mr G Malahlela
Trade and Information Enquiries
Trade and Information Assistant : Mr Slim Turki
Trade Tourism and Education Enquiries
First Secretary Political : Mr Mandixole Matroos
Office Hours
Monday to Thursday : 08h00 to 16h00
Friday : 08h00 to 13h00
Consular / Visa Section
Monday, Wednesday and Thursday : 08h30 to 12h00
Registration at the Embassy
The Embassy of the Republic of South Africa in Tunisia requests South African Citizens living in the Republic of Tunisia to register with the Embassy (South Africans in Tunisia Registration Form)

This registration service is provided so that the Embassy can update its contact list and assist South African Citizens in cases of emergencies.

Registration Form should be handed in at the Embassy, faxed to 71 796 742 or e-mailed to: sa@emb-safrica.intl.tn

South African visiting Tunisia are encouraged to register with ROSA: 

After hours number:+216 98 332 891

Please note that the Duty Officer is only available to take calls relating to emergency situations (serious illness/accidents and death) involving South African citizens only. The Duty Officer will not take general enquiry calls.
Mission Public Holidays for 2017
Monday 20 March Independence Day
Tuesday 21 March Human Rights Day
Friday 14 April Good Friday
Monday  17 April Family Day
Monday 01 May Workers’ Day
Friday 16 June Youth Day
Monday 26 June Eid El- Fitr (end of Ramadan)
Friday 1 September Eid El-Adha (feast of the sacrifice)
Thursday 21 September Muslim New Year
Friday 1 December   Prophet’s Birthday
Monday 25 December Christmas Day
Tuesday 26 December  Day of Goodwill
In South Africa, the Public Holidays Act (Act No. 36 of 1994) determines whenever any public holiday falls on a Sunday, the Monday following it shall be a public holiday. In Tunisia, Eid Al-Fitr announcing the End of Ramadan, and the Eid Al-Adha are subject to announcement by the country’s religious authorities.
Ambassador Mandla Harold Hoyana
Head of Mission
More Information
Department of International Relations and Cooperation
Department of Home Affairs
Trade and Investment South Africa (TISA)
Statistics South Africa
South Africa Reserve Bank
South African Revenue Services
Johannesburg Stock Exchange
Government Online
South African Airways
South African Tourism
National Parks of South Africa
Wines of South Africa
South Africa Broadcasting Corporation
South African Police Services
© South African Embassy Tunis, Tunisia | Disclaimer